‘Amour’ Palm d’Or Winner


30 May 2012| No Comments on ‘Amour’ Palm d’Or Winner     by Sean Chavel


The French film Amour by Michael Haneke won the Palme d’Or Grand Prize at this year’s Cannes Film Festival. The primary publicity image of the film, suggesting a loving older couple now facing the indignity of dementia, is enticing in a tender way. That’s the buzz – the icy cold Haneke (“The Piano Teacher,” “Caché”) has made his first truly tender film. I look forward to reviewing it when it gets a U.S. distribution deal. Jean-Louis Trintignant and Emmanuelle Riva star.

Emmanuelle Riva, left; Michael Haneke, center; Jean-Louis Trintignant, right

Haneke is the eighth person to win twice at Cannes. Haneke’s “The White Ribbon” won in 2009 – austere, but self-consciously cerebral to me. The wealth was shared by naming Carlos Reygadas as Best Director for his roughly autobiographical film (his words) called “Post tenebras lux.”  Mads Mikkelsen, an underrated international actor, won Best Actor for playing a man falsely accused of child molestation in “The Hunt” (Denmark). Christina Flutur and Cosmina Stratan shared the prize for Best Actress for the same film, “Beyond the Hills” (Romania), a film concerning an exorcism ritual at an Orthodox convent. That film also took the Best Screenplay award.

Lee Daniels, director/artist of “Precious,” garnered waves of adulation for “The Paperboy” but the film walked away with nothing – it should still nevertheless rack up acclaim and award nominations by the end of this year.

Members of the Main Jury included Hiam Abbass, Andrea Arnold, Emmanuelle Devos, Diane Kruger, Jean Paul Gaultier, Ewan McGregor, Alexander Payne, Raoul Peck and head president of the pool, the Italian director Nanni Moretti.



Palme d’Or: “Amour,” directed by Michael Haneke

Grand Prix: “Reality,” directed by Matteo Garrone

Director: Carlos Reygadas, “Post tenebras lux”

Jury prize: “The Angels’ Share,” directed by Ken Loach

Actor: Mads Mikkelsen, “The Hunt”

Actress (tie): Cristina Flutur and Cosmina Stratan, “Beyond the Hills”

Screenplay: Cristian Mungiu, “Beyond the Hills”



Main prize: “After Lucia,” directed by Michel Franco

Jury prize: “Le grand soir,” directed by Benoit Delepine and Gustave Kervern

Actress (tie): Emilie Dequenne, “Our Children”; Suzanne Clement, “Laurence Anyways”

Special distinction of the jury: “Children of Sarajevo,” directed by Aida Begic



“Here and There,” directed by Antonio Mendez Esparza


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Sean Chavel

About The Author / Sean Chavel

Sean Chavel is a Hollywood based author and movie reviewer. He is the Executive Director of flickminute.com, a new website that has adapted the movie review site genre by introducing moodbased and movie experience based reviews.


There are No Comments about this post

Add Yours!

You must be logged in to post a comment.